2023-24 WORLD CUP PERIOD 1 COMPETITION TEAM

Congratulations to the following athletes who have been selected to the World Cup Period 1 Team from November 15 to December 19, 2023, with races in Ruka, Gällivare, Ostersund and Trondheim. Athlete selections were based on the 2023-24 Nordiq Canada Competition Trip Criteria.

The deadline to appeal Team nominations is November 16, 2023, 11:59 PM MST. Appeals must be submitted in writing to Nordiq Canada's Appeal Manager, Stefano Mingarelli, at <u>stefmingarelli@gmail.com</u>.

Selection Rational

Athlete	WC P1 Criteria	Criteria Description	Evidence
Amelia Wells	4.4.a	COC Leaders	Female COC leader at the end of 2022-23 season, 577 points
Léo Grandbois	4.4.a	COC Leaders	Male COC leader at the end of 2022-2 season, 618 points
Antoine Cyr	4.4.b	Athletes achieving objective criteria 5.7.1.a-c in the 2023-24 NST criteria	NST criteria 5.7.1.a - 4 th WSC Team Sprint V2023
Graham Ritchie	4.4.b	Athletes achieving objective criteria 5.7.1.a-c in the 2023-24 NST criteria	NST criteria 5.7.1.a - 4 th WSC Team Sprint 2023
Olivier Léveillé	4.4.b	Athletes achieving objective criteria 5.7.1.a-c in the 2023-24 NST criteria	NST criteria 5.7.1.a – 5 th WSC Relay
Xavier McKeever	4.4.b	Athletes achieving objective criteria 5.7.1.a-c in the 2023-24 NST criteria	NST criteria 5.7.1.a – 5 th WSC Relay
Katherine Stewart-Jones	4.4.c	Top-12 WC 2022-23 or WSC individual final race result	10th 15 km C Mst World Cup ITA WC 2022-23

No athletes achieved criteria 4.4.d (2X Top-20 WC 2022-23 or WSC individual final race result) and discretionary selection was not applied in keeping with the stated objectives for World Cup P1 in the selection criteria.

Athlete nominations were made by the High Performance Committee (HPC) based on the 2023-24 Nordiq Canada Competition Trip Criteria. The HPC oversaw the selection process as per the Nordiq Canada Nomination, Selection and Announcement policy. Members of this committee are:

- Graham Nishikawa (athlete rep Para)
- Devon Kershaw (athlete rep Olympic)
- Maria Lundgren (BC)
- Pauline Nadlersmith (ON)
- John Lofranco (Athletics Canada)

- Julie Beaulieu (Nordiq Canada)
- Kate Boyd (Nordiq Canada)
- Chris Jeffries (Nordiq Canada)

Final athlete selections were approved by Chris Jeffries, High Performance Director – Olympic