2023 WORLD SKI CHAMPIONSHIPS COMPETITION TEAM

Congratulations to the following athletes who have been selected to the World Ski Championships in Planica, Slovenia February 21 – March 6, 2023. Athlete selections were based on the *2022-23 Nordiq Canada Competition Trip Criteria*.

The deadline to appeal Team nominations is January 23, 11:59 PM MST. Appeals must be submitted in writing to Nordiq Canada's Appeal Manager, Stefano Mingarelli, at <a href="mailto:stefano-st

Selection Rational

• The team of 12 is comprised of six (6) athletes per gender.

Athlete	Criteria	Criteria Description	Evidence	
Katherine Stewart-Jones	5.1.a	FIS Red Group status sprint or distance end of P3	10 th Stage World Cup Val di Fiemme 15 km C Mst	
Antoine Cyr	5.1.b	Top-12 at 2022-23 WC individual final race result	4 th Stage WC Val di Fiemme 15 km C Mst	
Graham Ritchie	5.1.d	HPD discretion per 3.7	21 st WC Val Mustair SP F Final 14 th WC Val Mustair SP qualification 12 th WC Val di Fiemme SP qualification 21 st WC Davos 20 km F 17 th WC Davos SP F Final 8 th WC Davos SP qualification	
• Athlete discretionally selected due to a top-20 performance and two results very close to a top-20 with three top-20 sprint qualifications.				
Dahria Beatty	5.1.e.i	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female final result in the classic sprint race.	1 st Canadian female in sprint	
Jasmine Lyons	5.1.e.ii	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female in the distance 10 km race.	1 st female in 10 km	
1st place winner of the women's 20 Km already selected. Selection moves to the 2nd place athlete in the next priority race.				
Katie Weaver	5.1.e.i	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female final result in the classic sprint race.	2 nd Canadian female in sprint	
Liliane Gagnon	5.1.e.ii	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female in the distance 10 km race.	2 nd female in 10 km	
2nd place athlete in 20 km and 3rd place athlete in sprint already selected. Selection moves to the 3rd place athlete in the next priority race.				

Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt	5.1.e.ii	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female in the distance 10 km race.	3 rd female in 10 km
Julian Smith	5.1.e.i	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female final result in the classic sprint race.	1 st male in sprint
Russell Kennedy	5.1.e.ii	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female in the distance 10 km race.	1 st male in 10 km
Olivier Léviellé	5.1.e.iii	World Ski Championship Trials – Prince George. First place male and female in the mass start 20 km race	1 st male in 20 km
Xavier McKeever	5.1.e.i	World Ski Championship Trials — Prince George. First place male and female final result in the classic sprint race.	2 nd male in classic sprint

Athlete nominations were made by the High Performance Committee (HPC) based on the 2022-23 Nordiq Canada Competition Trip Criteria. The HPC oversaw the selection process as per the Nordiq Canada Selection, Nominations and Announcement policy. Members of this committee are:

- Robbi Weldon (athlete rep Para)
- Devon Kershaw (athlete rep Olympic)
- Maria Lundgren (BC)
- Alain Masson (Yukon)
- John Lofranco (Athletics Canada)
- Julie Beaulieu (Nordiq Canada)
- Kate Boyd (Nordiq Canada)
- Chris Jeffries (Nordiq Canada)

Final athlete selections were approved by Chris Jeffries, High Performance Director – Olympic

SUMMARY OF SELECTIONS

Katherine Stewart-Jones, Club Nakkertok Nordique, QC - AIAWCA Dahria Beatty, Whitehorse Ski Club, YK - AIAWCA Jasmine Lyons, Nakkertok Nordic, ON Katie Weaver, Hollyburn Cross Country Ski Club, BC - AIAWCA Liliane Gagnon, Skibec/Léviski La Balade, QC - CNEPH Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt, Club Fondeurs-Laurentides, QC - AIAWCA Antoine Cyr, Club Skinouk, QC - CNEPH
Graham Ritchie, Georgian Nordic Outdoor Activity Centre, ON – NTDC Thunder Bay
Julian Smith, Georgian Bay Nordic, ON – NTDC Thunder Bay
Russell Kennedy, Canmore Nordic Ski Club, AB
Olivier Léveillé, Club de ski de fond Orford - CNEPH
Xavier McKeever, Foothills Nordic Ski Club, AB – AIAWAC