Selection Rationale

2023-2024 Para Nordic Team and AAP Nominations

April 24, 2023

Congratulations to the following athletes who have been named to the Paralympic stream of the National Ski Team based on the criteria outlined in the Para Nordic Canada National Ski Team (PNST) Selection Criteria 2023-24 and to the athletes who will be nominated to Sport Canada to receive AAP carding under the Para Nordic Athlete Assistance Program Selection Criteria 2023-24.

The deadline to appeal PN NST nomination is Wednesday, May 8, 2023, 11:59 PM in the time zone of the athlete’s current residence. Appeals must be submitted in writing to Nordiq Canada’s Appeal Manager, Stefano Mingarelli, at .

Selection Rationale

  • The goal of PNST and AAP selection criteria is to select athletes who demonstrate the potential for a podium performance (current and NextGen).
  • Athletes are listed in order of AAP qualification.
  • For World Cup Team selection, the FIS PN points listed are a combination of the best of two (2) races.
  • World Cup team athletes are listed in priority qualification order for AAP carding, as there is no priority selection order for selection to the PNST World Cup team.


Summary of National Ski Team and AAP Nominations


World Cup Team

Mark Arendz – Rocky Mountain Racers, AB 

Natalie Wilkie –  AIAWCA, Larch Hills Nordic Society, BC 

Collin Cameron – Kivi Park Nordic Ski Club, ON 

Brittany Hudak –  Rocky Mountain Racers, AB 

Derek Zaplotinsky – Strathcona Wilderness Centre, AB 


NextGen Team 

Christina Picton- Kivi Park Nordic Ski Club, ON 

Ethan Hess – Nordic Racers, BC 


Development Team 

Jesse Bachinsky – Kenora Nordic & Biathlon Club, MB 

Levi Nadlersmith (GUIDE) – Golden Nordic Ski Club Society, BC 

Leo Sammarelli – Nordic Racers, BC 

Lyne-Marie Bilodeau – ARSNM/Mauriski, QB 

Emma Archibald – Scotia XC Ski Club, NS 


Prospects Team 

Logan Cox – Kimberley Nordic Ski Club, BC 

Madison Mullin – Mono Nordic Club, ON 

Logan Lariviere – Kivi Park Nordic Ski Club, ON 


Athlete nominations were made by the High Performance Committee (HPC) based on the Para Nordic Canada National Ski Team (PNST) Selection Criteria 2023-24. The HPC oversaw the selection process as per the Nordiq Canada Selection, Nominations and Announcement policy. Members of this committee are:

  • Robbi Weldon (athlete rep – Para)
  • Devon Kershaw (athlete rep – Olympic)
  • Maria Lundgren (BC)
  • Alain Masson (Yukon)
  • John Lofranco (Athletics Canada)
  • Julie Beaulieu (Nordiq Canada)
  • Kate Boyd (Nordiq Canada)
  • Chris Jeffries (Nordiq Canada)

Final athlete selections were approved by Kate Boyd, High Performance Director – Para Nordic