Selection Rationale

Updated: 2024-2025 National High Performance Program and AAP Carding Nominations

April 23, 2024

Selection Rational (Click to View)


Congratulations to the Athletes who have been nominated to the National High Performance Program based on the criteria outlined in the Nordiq Canada National High Performance Program Selection Criteria 2024-25 and to those who will be nominated to Sport Canada to receive AAP carding under the Athlete Assistance Program Selection Criteria 2024-25. All nominations were reviewed and supported by the High Performance Committee.


Selection Rational

  • The goal of NHPP and AAP selection criteria is to select athletes who are following the performance pathway progression in relation to global competitors to achieve podium success at the Olympic Winter Games and World Ski Championships.
  • AAP carding type nominations are not finalized and subject to change upon review and acceptance by Sport Canada.
  • Final Team announcements will be released early May after final acceptance of nominations.
  • Development Team size is set at 12 athletes.
  • Team and AAP criteria descriptions are abbreviated versions of the criteria. Selection was competed using the full criteria description within the selection documents.
  • Benchmark criteria standards were based on the athlete meeting being the target age or younger on race day . Athletes and younger on date of race. Rankings were made on best results across all benchmarks.


The deadline to appeal the NHPP and AAP carding nominations is Wednesday, May 8th 11:59 PM in the athlete’s residing time zone. Appeals must be submitted in writing to Nordiq Canada’s Appeal Manager, Stefano Mingarelli, at .


Nominations (click to view)


The HPC oversaw the athlete nomination selection process as per the Nordiq Canada Selection, Nominations and Announcement policy. Members of this committee are:

  • Graham Nishikawa (athlete rep – Para)
  • Devon Kershaw (athlete rep – Olympic)
  • Maria Lundgren (BC)
  • Pauline Nadlersmith (ON)
  • John Lofranco (Athletics Canada)
  • Julie Beaulieu (Nordiq Canada)
  • Chris Jeffries (Nordiq Canada)


Final athlete selections were approved by Chris Jeffries, High Performance Director.