Media Release

Amelia Wells and Leo Grandbois Win First Golds at Nordiq Canada Ski Nationals

March 11, 2023

THUNDER BAY, Ont.—British Columbia’s Amelia Wells and Quebec’s Leo Grandbois struck first at the 2023 Nordiq Canada Ski Nationals, winning the open women’s and men’s 10-kilometre skate-ski races on Saturday in Thunder Bay, Ont.

Wells, of Strathcona Nordics, won the women’s race with a time of 27:46.3. Grandbois, Orford, clocked a time of 23:32.1 to take top spot in the men’s race.  Alberta’s Alison Mackie continued her hot streak with a win in the women’s U18 division, posting a time of 20:02.2. British Columbia’s Adam Heale won the 7.5-kilometre U18 men’s race with a time of 17:50.2.

Quebec’s Yves Bourque won the men’s five-kilometre Para Nordic sit ski race at 20:00.8. British Columbia’s Logan Cox won the men’s 7.5-kilometre standing race with a time of 20:02.4. Nova Scotia’s Emma Archibald won the women’s standing classification at 27:29.8.

Athlete Quotes:
“The first time around I couldn’t believe I was six seconds down. I just pushed really hard on the hill. In the last lap I gave it my all, and it was good.”

“I just kept telling myself to get to the finish line. My legs were burning so bad. I needed to get up those last couple of hills.”

“It’s hard to believe, and a dream come true. I never thought this would happen so I’m super stoked. There is nothing better than sharing the podium with your teammates.”
…Amelia Wells

“Lots of pressure – not going to lie. I really wanted that one. I knew Sasha (Masson) would be my biggest opponent today. I think it was a close fight.”

“It hurts even more when you know there is a guy a couple of seconds behind you. I knew I had to flip the switch and give it my all until the end.”
…Leo Grandbois

Race Results:
Open Women                                                               Open Men
1.Amelia Wells (Strathcona Nordics) 27:46.3                  1. Leo Grandbois (Orford)  23:32.1
2. Sonjaa Schmidt (Whitehorse Ski Club) 28:04.2           2. Sasha Masson (Whitehorse Ski Club) 23:37.2
3. Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt (Fondeurs-Laurentides) 28:09.2 3. Max Hollmann (Big Thunder Nordic)23:42.8

Complete Results: